Philosophy & Approach

The CCLI philosophy begins with a strengths-based model, believing that, as institutions engage in cultural competence work, they should build from their strengths.  CCLI is also grounded in the idea that cultural competence is a continuum along which individuals and institutions are travelling.  The goal of increasing organizational capacity is to begin by identifying where you are on the spectrum and endeavoring to move along that spectrum toward inclusion.  

Background and Definitions
It is also helpful to know how we define some important words and phrases that are often used in diversity or cultural competence work.

Two models inform the CCLI philosophy:

The Bennett Model of Cultural Competence
There are many developmental models of cultural competence in the field. One commonly referenced model is the Bennett model, which was developed by Milton Bennett and consists of a continuum of six stages moving from “ethnocentrism” to “ethnorelativism.” This model, as is the case with most models, is valuable in that it provides a springboard for discussion.

Cultural Competence Framework (21st Century Skills)
The CCLI Framework focuses on three 21st Century learning skills (identified by the Institute of Museum and Library Services)--Creativity and Innovation, Communication and Collaboration, and Global Awareness--that are particularly relevant to helping institutions advance their cultural competency.  The framework seeks to help institutions practice new ways to advance cultural competency by identifying categories for institutional growth and change within each of these three 21st century skills.

Kandel Allard, Director of Visitor Services, Long Island Children's Museum